15 September 2020

Hosting of Stockmann online store in CROC Cloud

CROC ensures uptime and fewer IT maintenance costs for the retailer’s website, visited by more than a million shoppers daily.

Challenge

The risk of weak computing performance during the large-scale Crazy Days shopping event. The aim of the project was to get infrastructure ready for a customer traffic burst. The 2020 sale occurred during the lockdown period in Russia, which heated up demand for online shopping, with the number of customer requests increasing 12-fold.

Solution

The scalable cloud platform ensured uninterrupted and efficient operation of the retailer’s infrastructure during the peak period. Focused on website uptime and fewer maintenance costs, the retailer opted for CROC Cloud. Moreover, the customer estimated that using its own resources to maintain computing infrastructure would cost dramatically more than outsourcing.

Outcome

Using cloud resources improves both service quality and cost efficiency. Constructing its own geographically distributed data centers is outside Stockmann’s development plans, especially when monthly maintenance of virtual servers comes at a more favorable price. In addition, cloud capacity can be rapidly expanded to keep e-commerce systems up and running during regular promotional campaigns.

Explore your opportunities with us

GET IN TOUCH with us

15 сентября 2020

Разместили онлайн-магазин СТОКМАНН в Облаке КРОК

Обеспечили постоянную доступность e-commerce сайта ритейлера и снижение затрат на поддержку ИТ-инфраструктуру. Этот онлайн-магазин ежедневно посещают более одного миллиона покупателей.

Проблема

Риск недостаточной производительности вычислительных систем в период проведения масштабной акции «Сумасшедшие дни». Целью проекта стала подготовка к увеличению трафика клиентов. В 2020 году эта акция по стечению обстоятельств совпала с локдауном в России. В результате повышенного спроса на онлайн-заказы количество обращений покупателей увеличилось в 12 раз.

Как мы помогли

Благодаря масштабируемой облачной платформе инфраструктура ритейлера продолжила эффективно работать в пиковый период. Ключевыми мотивами выбора облака стали потребность в постоянной доступности сайта и снижение затрат на поддержку. Собственными силами сопровождение вычислительной инфраструктуры, по оценке клиента, обошлось бы в несколько раз дороже.

Результаты

Практика использования облачных ресурсов помогает получить высокое качество сервиса при оптимальной цене. Строительство своих территориально распределенных дата-центров не входит в планы развития универмагов СТОКМАНН — месячное обслуживание виртуальных серверов обходится торговой сети дешевле, чем строительство и обслуживание собственных. В то же время использование быстро наращиваемых облачных ресурсов позволяет поддерживать стабильность работы e-commerce-систем во время регулярно проводимых промо-кампаний.

Реализуйте свой цифровой потенциал с КРОК

Связаться с нами